Callaghan steamrolls to second term victory over challenger, frequent critic

Comment Print
Related Articles
Mayor Paul Callaghan (City of Rocheser screenshot)

ROCHESTER -- Mayor Paul Callaghan steamrolled to his second term on Tuesday, earning 74 percent of the vote against challenger and frequent critic Susan Rice.
Official results released by the city last night showed that Callaghan won decisively 2,937 to Rice's 935 votes.

In a statement sent The Rochester Voice Tuesday night Rice expressed gratitude for the support she received during her run.
"Thank you to my supporters," Rice said. "I am proud of the honest campaign I ran and the fact I did this on my own. I will continue in my efforts for a more responsible and transparent government."
Callaghan released no statement following his victory.
Not surprisingly, Callaghan declined The Rochester Voice's request for comment on his stunning win.
Meanwhile, in a bizarre deja vu moment, longtime political rivals David Walker and Chuck Grassie ended up in another tie, this time for a Ward 4 Seat A City Council seat 409-409. A recount is expected.
Grassie defeated Walker earlier this year in a race for a state rep seat after a tie in the November 2022 election.
Rochester voters also narrowly OK'd sports book gambling in the city 2,026-1,801, paving the way for a casino at the Lilac Mall expected to open next year.
Other citywide races included Matt Beaulieu's re-elections to the Rochester school board and former city councilor John Larochelle's win over David Winship Jr. for a spot on the Police Commission.
Other race results:
City Council
Ward 1 Seat A: Patricia Turner over Joshua Guptel, 345-326.
Ward 1 Seat B: Tim Fontneau 627 (unopposed)
Ward 2 Seat A: Daniel Fitzpatrick 523 (unopposed)
Ward 2 Seat B: Amy Malone, 516 (unopposed)
Ward 3 Seat A: Bryan Karolian, 411 (unopposed)
Ward 3 Seat B: David Herman, 396 (unopposed)
Ward 4 Seat B: Chuck Creteau over Keith Fitts, 519-220
Ward 5 Seat A: Alex de Geofroy, 437 ((unopposed)
Ward 5 Seat B: Donald Hamann, 440 (unopposed)
Ward 6 Seat A: Matthew Richardson, 439 (unopposed)
Ward 6 Seat B: Kevin Sullivan over Benjamin Pratt, 349-131.
School Board
Ward 1 Seat A: Sarah Harrington over Tracy Walbridge, 384-300
Ward 1 Seat B: Nick Bellows over Diane Leveille, 495-191
Ward 2 Seat A: David Camire, 501 (unopposed)
Ward 2 Seat B: Sandy Keans, 503 (unopposed)
Ward 3 Seat A: Shauni McGowan over Christine Gianotti, 276-206
Ward 3 Seat B: Matt Pappas over Khristine Bibeau, 286-208
Ward 4 Seat A: Shane Downs over Anne Grassie, 423-380
Ward 4 Seat B: Paul Cormier over James Connor, 462-249
Ward 5 Seat A: Karen Stokes, 420 (unopposed)
Ward 5 Seat B: Erik S. White, 424 (unopposed)
Ward 6 Seat A: Steven A. Cusumano, 418 (unopposed)
Ward 6 Seat B: Kelli Allen over Donna Ellis, 246-242
Read more from:
Top Stories
Comment Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: